Let the festivities begin!

by

Hello fellow restauranteurs! Restaurant City has been updated with an array of new items , new limited dishes and an abundance of new features!

It´s  the time for the Holiday magic to start early this year, let it spread throughout your restaurant and surroundings.  What can be more appropriate for Holiday decorations than a Restaurant centered on snow! It is definitely time for the red, green and white theme with Snowy Floors, Snowmen, Chairs and tables covered with snow and let´s not forget the pine trees or that Santa Statue! What will your holiday restaurant look like?

We have decided to give you your Holiday present early this year, so make sure you read the whole blog post, I think you will be surprised!

Frosty The Snowman is a functional item that creates snowy footprints for your customers, make sure you create the perfect Holiday atmosphere for the inside of your restaurant.

Festive Chair Frosty The Snowman (functional, leaves snowy footprints) Festive Table
Festive Wallpaper Candy Jar Snowy Floor

And this week when you enter your restaurant I am sure that you will have noticed the large For Sale sign!  You can now expand your restaurant by buying outdoor space!  I am not sure if December is the month for alfresco dining, but I am sure you are able to create a warm and cozy outdoor area for the holidays! How much outdoor space you can buy depends on the level you are on, the higher the level, the more outdoor space you can buy.

We also of course have added some greenery for you to use with your new outdoor space. Note that floor tiles can currently not be used in the outdoor space, but we will add this functionality in a later update. Remember also that outdoor items can only be used outdoors and not inside your restaurant. We are looking forward to seeing the creative use you make of the new area in the Forum Gallery!

Blue Daisy Iris Pink Tulips
Sunflowers Green Bush Red Berry Bush
White Flower Bush Pine Tree Snowy Pine Tree

You can also this week find two new Arcade Machines, to purchase. The Crazy Planets Pinball Machine will let you earn 1 coin for each time one of your customers use it.

And then there is the Deep Sea Arcade, this will also let you earn 1 coin for each use, but you can also play on it! SImply click on it and then click “play”. You control the fish by using your mouse. Holding in the left mouse button = fish floats upwards. Letting go of the mousebutton = fish floats downwards. You can view your friends high scores by playing on the machine in their restaurant.

Crazy Planets Pinball (functional, earn 1 coin per use) Deep Sea Arcade (functional, earn 1 coin per use + you can play on it!)

Now, a quick tour back to the Holidays! You have already seen the inside decorations, now it is time to take a look at the decorations you can use on the outside of your restaurant. This is not for the outside area, but for the front of your restaurant building. Make sure you check out the snowman, as he will make it snow!

Angel Decor Pine Tree Snowy Banner
Snowy Pine Tree Snowman (functional, he will make it snow!) Santa Statue
Snowy Roof

To complement your Holiday themed restaurant, there are also four new limited dishes! Latkas for Starter, Festive Glazed Ham for Main Course, Mince Pie for Dessert and finally the new Eggnog Drink. We have also introduced new ingredients to the game, Raisins and Orange, so you will need to go and do some ingredient hunting before the time runs out. Good Luck!

You can unlock all these dishes until Midnight January 5th. If you have not unlocked the dishes before that time, the dishes will disappear from your menu, so you need to hurry and collect those ingredients.

Once you have unlocked any of the four dishes, you can upgrade them to a level higher than level 1 at any time. You can upgrade them also after the limited time period, but you need to remember to learn the dish you want to keep in your menu. If you haven´t learned the dishes (got them to at least level 1) before the period is over, they will disappear from your menu, however you may be able to buy these recipes in future.

Latkas (starter) Festive Glazed Ham (main course)
Mince Pie (dessert) Eggnog (drink)

As if we have not been generous enough in the countdown to the holidays, we have added more levels! Whereas before, the maximum level was 32, the new maximum level is level 65! Imagine that, 33 more levels to conquer! As you level up you can now buy items exclusive to those who have reached that level.

Floating Crystal – Level 35 RequiredOne man´s trash may be another man´s treasure, but
with Floating Crystal everyone´s trash becomes treasure! You
even get an occasional bonus for clearing it. Effect: Occasionally
gives 2 coins for clearing trash.
Giant TV – Level 45 RequiredDo your customers queue around the block?
Do you measure the waiting time for a table in years?
Just add one giant TV for them to watch and they´ll be a lot
more patient! Effect: +1 second to customer´s waiting time.
Wishing Well – Level 55 RequiredCustomers throw coins into the well and make a wish,
You get the coin and they get to make their wish*
Everyone´s happy!
*Wishes may or may not be granted Effect: earn 1 coin for each use.

 

(customers won´t actually make wishes!)

Egyptian Obelisk – Level 65 RequiredThe Egyptians knew a thing or two about restaurants if this obelisk is anything to go by.
Just install one in your restaurant for a +2 bonus to your maximum
popularity! Effect:
+2 bonus to maximum popularity. Effect does not stack.

And finally – make sure you are on the lookout for the Gourmet King.  You can find the Food King in your friends restaurants  out in the street. He may even be sitting at a table, sampling one of the dishes. When you click on him, he will allow you to post a feed to your wall. This feed can contain ingredients or exclusive dishes.

If you find him, you will not get a reward yourself. You must post the feed to your wall in order to give the reward of your choice to your friends. For you to get any dishes or ingredients from the Gourmet King, your friends must find him and post to their wall. You then need to follow the link in the feed from your friends.

Gourmet King

Make sure you let us know what you think about our latest update. Our players opinions are always very important to us.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

81 Responses to “Let the festivities begin!”

  1. benla Says:

    WOW WOW WOW THANKS PLAYFISH.. MERRY CHRISTMAS 🙂

  2. strawberrific Says:

    This is freaking awesome!

  3. TheChocolateOne Says:

    Best update so far! I’m so glad there’s an outdoor area. I LOVE the new functional items and the increase in maximum level! Thanks!

  4. Rona Says:

    AWESOME updates!!!

  5. Gabby Says:

    Oh gosh i lvoe these items! 😀
    :3 love the christmas themed itmes

  6. anguish Says:

    Do we get lager resteraunts with leveling up?

  7. Stacker Says:

    Stacking doesn’t work outside :\

  8. sam Says:

    I want a christmas song!!!! xP

  9. Lynn Girouard Says:

    Love the updates. WOW, since I was already at level 32, going to 65 well this is just totally great. I can’t wait to start my Christmas decorating. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU.

  10. Eoine Says:

    Amazing. Oh god so amazing !

    I can’t wait to see everything by myself, NOW that’s a game constantly evolving !!

  11. Kim Says:

    So with the outdoor area, how do we close the restaurant now? I used to just remove the door, but now they can walk right in. How do we stop our popularity from going down, and how do we get the waiters to serve the people outside?

  12. MONICA Says:

    Excelente, mil gracias estan fabulosos, Y llego la Navidad…

  13. RaveWithMe Says:

    WOW I LOVE THIS UPDATE.
    More levels is exactly what I wanted.
    THANK YOU PLAYFISH and EA

  14. April Says:

    Yeah how do we close the resturant now??? If I would of know that would happen adding outdoor area I would not have… My rating went from 50 to who knows what the next time I check it… Not very happy.. I work so i cant sit here all day and play this game….

    • Joni Says:

      Hi, I figured out that you can block the outside area by taking a few divider screens (either from inside your restaurant or buy some extra) and placing them end to end along the sidewalk. This blocks the outside off and no one can come in.

  15. michelle Says:

    I want an answer to Kim’s question: how do we close up the restaurant with the outdoor area enabled, and how do we get our waiters to serve outside? Do we have to line up bushes all along the outside walls or something? X_x

  16. Elno Says:

    The Gourmet King gave the exclusive dish link is dead!
    All friend kicked and only saw the page “Error 404”!

  17. Boco Says:

    Oh my, a lot of exploration to do…can’t wait to see how the alfresco dining area works, but no canopy & heater in the store? Hope to see orange & raisins in the market soon…what about more employees? Keep it up RC!

  18. jay Says:

    how do we close the restaurant outside?!?!?

  19. Abe Says:

    To close the outside, put up a wall or the dividers along the front and side, and they no longer walk through that area, they go through the door.

  20. Lanien Elsid Says:

    PLAYFISH!! you are the BEST!!!

  21. garuby Says:

    and how do we closed the outdoor area?

  22. Gilad Says:

    WOW!
    Just amazing!

    By the way, about the outside restaurant..
    Will I have to put waiters and chefs outside too or will the indoor waiters will also do their job outside?

  23. critic Says:

    isn’t it nice to have a roof inside to interior XD

    hehehe

    nice update please next time make a 3rd view

  24. critic Says:

    Where is the Christmas song?????!!!?!?!?!!!!

    And where is the presents?!?!?!?!?!!!

  25. Pam Castro Says:

    I bought the alfresco area and I can close it off. You just have to buy barriers for area next to the street so they can’t just walk in. You also have to put one of your stoves in this area, or they don’t get fed. That kind of screwed up my current set up.. but then, even after all this… now when I open my restaurant NO ONE goes into my restaurant. They just all sit and wait for a seat in the alfresco area. >.< I took all the seats back out, blocked it all off, put the stove back and again.. same thing. Now I'm down to 43.0 from 50 in no time flat and can't seem to fix it. I find NOTHING to tell you how to work this area anywhere. I spent a ton of money on this and now I'm regretting ever buying it.. because now I can't open my restaurant without losing points and money. Can anyone help?!?!?!!?

    • Joni Says:

      You have to leave the barriers or bushes up all the time blocking the street, then the people come to the patio and leave by way of the restaurant and the front door.

  26. Filiana Says:

    i love Restaurant City, keep improving, i’m taking all my friends to play this game

  27. irmaxx Says:

    i saw someone sitting in what seems to me like a picnic blanket in one of my friends garden (however, the clothes are different from the GOURMET KING). when i try to click on it, its not allowing me to. does the gourmet king always have the purple attire?

  28. Clara Chan Says:

    I love RC game very much! BTW, how can i find the Gourmet King??? I want to find him!!!

  29. Marck Says:

    Thank you so much Playfish! though I do wish that there could be more employees…9 seems a little to little for my restaurant…oh well still love these updates!

  30. Mark Says:

    you have really outdone yourselves this time RC! this update is amazing!!! too bad it’s around finals time….ugh study then play nonstop! haha

  31. Michael Says:

    What about …
    – reindeers & sleigh on the roof top
    – christmas lights (exterior)
    – presents (boxes) for interior

  32. Cross Says:

    I just don’t know how to make food to the outdoor area. Even I put the chef and the stove outside, the chef didn’t cook any food, and my gourmet point keeps sliding down!

  33. Anon Says:

    Oh god.. I nearly caught up to my friends but then theres more levels! D: It’s going to take me FOREVER to get to level 65!

    BTW ❤ the new dishes and christmas decor.

    Gourmet King is like Hideeni from PS. WOO! 😀

  34. yourBOM Says:

    I don’t neesd any door because I sets all my customer to walk pass my garden.

    Just wonder what is the exclusive dishes!

  35. Aeriz Says:

    Now if only we can have a second floor to our restaurant. Wouldn’t that be awesome? *wistful*

    Seriously, why is there no Lighted Christmas tree decoration?

  36. Connie Says:

    I loved this game until the outside area was added. Now I can’t close my resturant and my rating just drops.

  37. Evonne Says:

    Its amazing…..

  38. Sparoww Says:

    half mill for the Egyptian Obelisk … not fair !?

  39. Tara Says:

    Its just a shame that the shrubbery is outdoors only. My Winter theme inside seems to be missing some plants and what not…

  40. Brian Says:

    I am still waiting for a distinctive icon to mark any unvisited/new friends restaurant on “Street” view. I found it is very difficult to keep track of which restaurant I had visited and which not. Especially when I have more than 100+ friends on my street. Looking forward for it on next update.

    Regarding the winter theme, I will give two thumbs up!

    Thanks!

  41. Jen Lott Says:

    YAY, so glad that the Christmas stuff is out, but I would really love some blinking Christmas lights for the rest. Any possibility of that happening?

  42. Wanda Says:

    Ok, love the updates, but…are we ever going to get any more employees? Now we must take workers out of the restaurant to put them outside, so that means not a bit more income than before. The Food King thingie; why did you make it so hard. And no benefit for ourselves but for someone else, & only for us if we are lucky. No Christmas music or lights. No other way of getting food but trading or buying at an inflated price too. Bumber!!! Someone should give this game a little more thought.

    • Can't Believe Wanda Says:

      To Wanda:
      Christmas is a time for GIVING, not receiving.
      And it’s spelled.. BUMMER. Not Bumber.

      You should give yourself some more thought.
      Merry Christmas!

  43. [遊戲]Restaurant City ... 12/01 新增聖誕節主題商品與部份重大更新 | 月光下的嘆息! Says:

    […] Let the festivities begin! […]

  44. Joy Says:

    I think as we level up we should get to be able to do two things: serve more dishes and hire more employees. (Am I wrong, or would it be possible to set up an outdoor kitchen, if one had more employees?)

  45. Cat Says:

    I love these new updates, but I completely think there NEEDS to be more employees! At level 32 it was difficult to fun the restaurant on nine employees, now it’s almost impossible if we want to use the full outside area.

    Also, minor, but I think we need solid black dividers. 😛

  46. caecil Says:

    how can we found the gourmet king?? i’ve visited all my friend’s restaurant but could not find him anywhere.. anyone already found him??

  47. Regina Says:

    How do i sell the outside area. I bought it by accident and now im broke. How do i remove it?

  48. Daniel Says:

    Wow that alot more fun to be esp with more game and items. But one thing RC missed out from us is the need to increase employees. We have such a BIG restaurant yet we cant utilize the space for better development simply because there is not enough workers to support the strength. I hope RC would consider up to 20-25 works at level 65.

  49. Julie Says:

    Where is the food king??? I have been looking for him and don’t see him anywhere… talk about frustrating!!!

  50. Kho Says:

    I don’t like this update … for the beginers it’s too dificult to get level 65 … OMG so I will bored with this game…why must upgrade level ? I think level 32 is excellent … just upgrade menu and accessories…
    I suggest to upgrade market … so I can buy lot of ingredient which I can’t find from my friends & I can choose the ingredient which I need too.

  51. whong Says:

    i had 1 question here.Why my restaurant only has a little people come in after update?my popularity drop from 46 to 4.4. i noticed that only 1 or 2 ppl come in only. And i already block the new area.. somebody can help me on this?

  52. zodi Says:

    Brilliant blog – love all the new christmas stuff!
    Give us more to do but I think it makes it a little harder too. Oh, well still addicted!

  53. Top Posts — WordPress.com Says:

    […] Let the festivities begin! Hello fellow restauranteurs! Restaurant City has been updated with an array of new items , new limited dishes and an […] […]

  54. Diane Says:

    How do I close the outdoor section?! People keep going into my restaurant via there and lowering my rating. : (
    thank you

  55. BY Says:

    the seeds should include more ingredients. i spent 2000 per seed and what i always got are corianders, gingers, vanilla, saffron, bay leaves, wasabis, oreganos, tea leaves, etc. i have enough of all these ingredients! we don’t get lemons, peaches, peas, apples, strawberries, rice, etc!

    do something about it please!

  56. Mary Says:

    Love the new outdoor space, but I’m short with the employees. Would be great to be able of hiring new employees. I have a lot of friends that want to work at my restaurant. Great blog, great game!! Love it!!

  57. [遊戲]Restaurant City ... 12/01 新增聖誕節主題商品與部份重大更新 | 社群遊戲攻略王 Says:

    […] Let the festivities begin! […]

  58. Tasha Says:

    I found the gourmet king! too bad i didn’t realize that the gift he gives only go to my friends! BOOOOOOO RC! what kind of prize is that!? Why look for him if i don’t get anything unless my friends find him too!?

  59. Lady Trinity Says:

    I really enjoy the changes but i wish i could get mine fixed. Since this update my resturant city is messed up big time. i load in and i can’t do anything i keep getting errors and i can’t save. Yes i know that is a known issues. but here is the bigger part. My gp was reset somehow. I am still on level 65, but my gp are 5592 and when i go one someone elses to see mine. it showing -7. What the heck happened??? i have messaged and messaged so many times and no answers i just keep getting blown off. I have tried everything to get it fixed and no luck…. When is the next updates so i can see if it fixes it? i am very annoyed that this happened when i spend a lot of time on there plus i spend a lot of money.

    This is the first time i have any issues with any games. And i really do like the new features to this game. And i would really like to work with them and grow my outside area bigger too. Please help me!!!!!

  60. Kit Kat Says:

    I think in the next update we should be able to clean friend’s toilets for money! That would make a lot of people happy.

  61. Jojo Says:

    only 2 walls for decrocation are not enough. it would be greatful if the purchased walls can also be decrocated.

    great job and keep improving for RC, i really addicted to it.

  62. KelKel Says:

    Since the update, I barely earn coins and am getting very few customers. What’s going on?????

  63. Elle Says:

    RC’s new update is awful! Seriously, I’m not making more than 200 coins in a normal day. And the cheating thing is so stupid, omg who cares!!! IT’S A FLIPPIN GAME!!! I just don’t like what RC changed to.

  64. Nina Says:

    Yeah please let us decorate the purchased walls!! It would be nice also to change the outdoor floor, I wanna be able to put the snow or sand floor, please! The updates are amazing and people stop asking how to close the outdoor area, LOADS of people told u how to block it just read previous comments!!

  65. Annie Says:

    GOURMET KING SUCKS
    let him give US the benefits, not our friends!
    we should be able to clean friends toilets and fix their games!
    when you level up a dish you should get more money for it!

  66. Ivana Says:

    I have to agree with some people here about the Gourmet King. He SUCKS. Just to find him is like looking for a needle in a haystack & then I have nothing to show for it. None of my friends are bothering to find him, and I totally agree with them. It’s a complete waste of time. You already give us VERY LITTLE ingredients to work with. I spent a full month getting one dish to level 10 and I’m nowhere near on the other ones.

    This update & the new one are fail.

  67. Amma Says:

    I found the Gourmet King and then choosed one option, then the window closed. Can you tell me how to post the feed to my wall?

  68. Amma Says:

    Referring to my last query, pls note that my setting is ticked:-

    You can change the settings here: http://www.facebook.com/editapps.php – then select “Restaurant City” -> “Edit Settings” -> “Additional Permissions” -> “Publish Streams” – ensure that this option is ticked, else you will not see a feed pop-up in the game in order to post the feed to your wall.

  69. Kristin Says:

    The updates are very well done, except the gourmet king. I believe that it would be better if it was awarded to ourselves rather than our friends. My friends don’t even bother to find him. I also think that there should be a more efficient way to assign jobs to the waiters/chefs; it takes me a long time just to click through everything.

  70. tobias Says:

    can you put more emplees an largers restaurant becouse i am in level 55and its boring

  71. AB Says:

    all the items that make special things happen r cool, but if there was somethin that can make dishes sell 4 +1 coin, it’ll be great!!!!

  72. Jeady Chen-Hicks Says:

    We bought this small radiator to use in our 8′ x 16′ greenhouse to save our plants from the ravages of the scarce hard-freezes weve been experiencing this winter. We purposely bought a bathroom radiator because of the moisture that can accumulate in a greenhouse, just like in a bathroom after a hot shower or bath. We plugged this radiator into a 100′ heavy-duty extension cord and set the thermostat to 65 degrees: just enough to combat the freezing temperatures but not hot enough to hurt our plants. We have been using this radiator on nights where a freezeor near-freezehas been predicted for nearly 2 months and it has worked flawlessly. I would urge this product highly for use in small greenhouses and, of course, bathrooms.

  73. rachael Says:

    hey, i reached level 55 a few days ago and bought the wishing well… but no one is using it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! is anyone else having this problem? what needs to happen in order for people to start using my wishing well?

  74. Leslie Says:

    I dunno if this is the place to request or for my comment to be seen, but can we have a Jungle Theme…like Rainforest Cafe? Iv been Saving all by Gold, waiting for a theme that i like, and id really like to see a Jungle theme (:

  75. Dhyani Says:

    I’ve spent a lot of money buying that expensive pinball machine and now seems like none of my customer are playing it. is the function of 1 coin per customer playing it is real or it’s just another decoration?

Leave a comment